Get lyrics on your iphone or Android phone with the karnatik app!

Join us on Facebook

Web karnatik

Song: dharanu nee sari

daranu nee sari
raagam: varaaLi

39 jhaalavaraaLi janya
Aa: S G1 R1 G1 M2 P D1 N3 S
Av: S N3 D1 P M2 G1 R1 S

taaLam: aadi
Composer: Tyaagaraaja
Language: Telugu


dharanu nI sari daivamu gAnarA raghuvara

caraNam 1

shrIdAjavandana sindhu bandhana shrI dasharatha nandana shrita hrtsyandana

caraNam 2

pApa vimOcana pankaja lOcana prApaguTaku yOcana bhakta pAlana

caraNam 3

sAlavidArana sarva lOkAvana pAlaya candrAnana patita pAvana

caraNam 4

indirAbhAgyamA inakulOttamA candamu kanipimpumA sattamAtramA

caraNam 5

pAdAravindamu pAvana kandamu nIdaya dhana brndamu nityAnandamu

caraNam 6

vAgisha sannuta tyAgarAjArcita nAgashayana pAlitanata sucarita

I have not met any other god in this world to match you. Supreme among Raghus! You are the bestower of prosperity and welfare, worshipped by Brahma. You are famed for the SEtu bridge across the ocean to Lanka. You were born to Dasharatha. You are one who rides the minds of those seeking refuge as a chariot. With eyes like the lotus, why do you hesitate to grant me asylum? Protector of devotees. You shot an arrow dexterously which bore through seven trees and left them in disorderly array. You shoulder the burden of protection of all the world. Your face has the effulgence of the full moon. Your touch and glance purify the humble. You constitute the fortune of ShrI. You are the most prominent member of the solar race. Deign to show me your beauty. Personification of truth! Possessor of a reputable record of life, your sacred feet are the subject of all my thoughts and conceptions. Your mercy is my wealth and eternal bliss. O One worshipped by Brahma! One reclining on AdisEsha! Protector of those who prostrate at your feet! How else should I praise you to attain your grace?

Other information:
Lyrics contributed by Lakshman Ragde. Meaning from Compositions of Tyagaraja by TK Govinda Rao.

first | previous | next

Contact us

updated on 08/23/2012